2011-11-22

Legend

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu
Release Date: November 29, 2011
Penguin: Putnam Juvenile
ISBN13: 9780399256752

3.5/5 Stars

Goodreads Synopsis:
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.


For fans of The Hunger Games and Delirium, we now have Legend as well.

It isn't hard to see why this dystopian/post apocolyptic/futuristic YA genre has taken off so well; it's full of rebellion, might against right, and bleek, improbable optimism for a better future.

This is one of my favourite genres to read about because of the various question it raises regarding one of my favourite topics and my chosen field of science: politics. What does it mean for us? How much government is too much? Where does power come from? What do you do when it's out of control?

Legend is a perfect book for all of these questions. It's like, Robin Hood in the future.

The stories of Day and June are completely different, yet I was grateful that it was never confusing and how well these two POVs mingled and eventually merged into one. I will say that it will never stop breaking my heart to see these children, these teens having to grow up so fast in books because of difficult life circumstances. Day and June don't act like kids, they act like adults with adult choices, making adult decisions. But at the same time... they aren't adults.

I don't know if it's just me, or if others feel this way too, but books like these make me dream of accomplishing things that maybe aren't quite as big, but are still vitally important for our time. Because these characters are positively INSPIRING.

However, these jaded characters often come across as being so cold and distant that they can be hard to relate to at times. And for example, I could not fathom how Day's mother and younger brother believed he was dead all this time when they kept receiving these mysterious gifts which were always just what they needed at the time.

I also would have appreciated more insight to the motivation of the Republic; exactly what is going on there? No one seems to know, not even June who's a fairly inside character to the Republic. And exactly what's going on with the war against the Colonies? I'm hopeful that future books will contain more information regarding the background and politics of Marie Lu's world.

ARC received from Penguin Canada in exchange for my honest review; no other compensation was received.

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

10 comments:

KTJ said...

Great Review! I'm really excited to read this one and have already pre-ordered it! I love dystopian and as soon as I read the synopsis I knew I had to read it!

-Kate
http://www.nomaliciousreads.com

Natalia Belikov @ Dazzling Reads said...

Dear! I love your review! thanks so much for mentioning the questions this book raises! I am desperately to read it now!!

Great review ^_^ muah!! happy reading!!!!!!
Dazzling Reads

Mocha ღ Latte(Cupcake and a Latte) said...

What a wonderful review, Brenna!
I still need to pick up my copy for review later next week >.<


-Wendy from A Cupcake and a Latte: YA Reviews

Angel (Mermaid Vision Books) said...

"Robin Hood in the future" is a really intriguing way to put it! Awesome review, Brenna. :)

Giselle said...

I agree the whole gift giving would have made me wonder if I was the mother. I had a lot of fun with this one. I hope we get more info on the war and reasons behind it in the next book.

Giselle
Xpresso Reads

geekgirl said...

Great review!

I'm all intrigued by this one. I'll have to check it out!

-geekgirl

Vivian said...

Nice review! Being told from both POVs was a plus for me and yes, I'm eager to see how Marie Lu develops this world and her characters more in the next book.

I'd love it if you checked out my review of Legend too. Thanks!

BookLuvr Mindy said...

Thanks for the review. I've had my eye on this one for a while now. I've stumbled on to your blog from another blog I follow and so far I like what I see! I can't wait to see what you think of the end of Bloodrose! You will probably see me stalk your blog regularly from this point forward!

Magical Urban Fantasy Reads
@bookluvrmindy

Rachel Lampard said...

II never heard of this story until I read your review. It sounds interesting. I better check this out to see it myself. :)

Molly Gibson-Mee said...

Great review! Everyone seems to be getting review copies of this! I love dystopians so I have a good feeling about this :)

Great review!

Molly
Reading is my cup of tea

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by eedee design studios