2011-10-03

Kindred Reads {7}

Kindred Reads is my weekly feature where I recommend similar books. There's a mix of popular books, and fairly unknown authors and indie books as well. This is something that I personally wish I saw more of; after reading a book I enjoy, I often want to read similar books but they can be hard to discover!
These books contain similar elements, whether it's content, writing style, or other themes found in the stories. They are always books which I have read, and clicking on the title of the book will take you to my review of that book.
If you like... Delirium by Lauren Oliver


Then you might want to read...

Matched by Ally Condie

I want to make it clear that I was really hesitant to compare any books to Delirium, simply because of how much I love it and how I really don't think there's anything quite like it. But I can say that about any books I truly, deeply love (including the Hunger Games) and sometimes that just doesn't feel like a fair comparison.

But I do think that some books out there share similar charactersitics, and I found Matched and Delirium to be two books like that. At a very basic level, and on the surface as well, they're similar books although their exexcution is very different. These are stories of literally forbidden love; a dysoptian world where the government controls everything right down to their conception of love. It isn't fair, and it's up to the characters to decide how much their willing to fight for it.
Eve by Anna Carey


As soon as my review goes up, you'll see that I didn't love Eve. But I didn't hate it either. To me, it really felt like a Delirium story that just fell... flat. There wasn't quite as much passion, but it's the same idea of overprotected girl meets rebellious boy, but it just really isn't done as well. But if you're as much of a fan as I am of these kinds of stories, then it's worth a read even just to satisfy your hunger for more of it (and while you're anxiously awaiting Pandemonium... ahem).








buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery


3 comments:

Giselle said...

Oh I have Delirium here and haven't touched it yet. I've had it for months too. I've heard mixed reviews on it so kind of scared haha.


Giselle
Xpresso Reads

flashlight_reader said...

What a great idea for a meme! I'm with you about wanting to read similar books to ones I enjoy. It can be SO hard to find books that are similar.

Do you mind if other people use your meme? Is there a linky list or anything to participate?

anaavu said...

Agree with flashlight. You need to do a linky. Or else I'm gonna steal your meme ;D

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
Blog Design by eedee design studios