2011-08-29

Kindred Reads {2}

You know when you read a book with a plot that you really enjoyed and you wonder what else like it might be out there for you?

This post is for you!

These books contain similar elements, whether it's content, writing, or other themes found in the stories.

If you like...
Legacy by Cayla Kluver
You might want to read...

Aurelia by Anne Osterlund


The plots of Legacy and Aurelia are so similar, they're practically twins. But then again, it isn't really a new idea to have a princess torn between love and royal duty. The execution is simlar as well, and Alera and Aurelia come across as similar kinds of young women. They both have a strong sense of responsibility for their country, and they want to do the right thing...whatever that may be. That being said, where Legacy is rich in description and details Aurelia seems to have more action in it (and its sequel, Exile, is already out).




Cleopatra's Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter


While Aurelia and Legacy are both set in a kind of historical fantasy, renaissance-esque world Cleopatra's Moon revolves around the story of Cleopatra's only daughter in the Ancient, Classical world. But it still has a similar feel as her daughter, Cleopatra Selene, struggles to find her place in a kingdom that's quickly crumbling apart and desires to step out of the shadow made by her mother, the ruler of Egypt. You have the same theme of princess trying to fulfill her royal duty, and the political intrigue that make Legacy and Aurelia so enjoyable, but with a smaller dose of love and a bit more historical fact behind it.



2 comments:

Lisa @ Read.Breathe.Relax. said...

Wow, this is almost scary. I JUST finished Legacy a few weeks ago, and BOTH of those books are on my TBR! I think Aurelia sounds fantastic! But then again...so does Cleopatra's Moon! lol

Great post- thanks for sharing!

Nicole said...

I highly, highly recommend Cleopatra's Moon. It is such an amazing book!

Nicole @ All I Ever Read

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
Blog Design by eedee design studios