Kindred reads {1}

You know when you read a book with a plot that you really enjoyed and you wonder what else like it might be out there for you?

This post is for you!

These books contain similar elements, whether it's content, writing, or other themes found in the stories.

If you like...
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
You might want to consider reading...

Entwined by Heather Dixon

Victoria Schwab has been praised for her lyrical writing and the fairytale atmosphere she created in TNW. Dixon's debut, Entwined, is striking in its own account with magical prose, some eerie twists and undertones, and fairytale vibes. While TNW only seemed to be reminiscent of folklore, Entwined is a more obvious retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, but a truly compelling and creative one.

Witch Song by Amber Argyle

Besides the obvious similarity of both Witch Song and TNW being about, well, witches, they also share a story of a young girl on a journey of self-discovery. Both main characters, both Brusenna and Lexi experience some extremely well-paced character development as they mature into young women (and save the world and all that jazz, too).

Are there any other books you find to be similar to any of these? Any books you'd like to see some similar recommendations for?


Book Crook Liza said...

I haven't read the other two, but I've read Entwined! I liked it a lot!

Harpreet Singh said...

I read The Near Witch, and I absolutly loved it! I'll totally be reading Entwined and Witch Song soon! Thanks for the recommendations, this is such a cool post! =D

Liz. R said...

Haven't read any of these, but they all sound great! Nice feature, it's always good to have some recommendations :)

Brenna said...

Thank you! I'm hoping to do more of these, because I know this is the kind of post I'd like to see more of around on blogs!

Shanella said...

I liked Witch Song, I'll have to check the other two out. I see them popping up all the time =)

Rywn said...

Hurrah! I'm totally using this in reverse - I read & loved Entwined for how beautifully written it was, and loved the story. I hadn't really heard of The Near Witch until now & Witch Song's cover has uh, honestly always creeped me out a little, but I'll give them a try! :D

Brenna said...

I highly recommend all of these books- so if you're using this backwards, go for it! Witch Song's cover really doesn't do the story justice.

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Design by eedee design studios